Google + RSS Feed

The Five Love Languages of Children, by Gary Chapman


April 20, 2013 by Jen Cudmore


Summary: This book explains that people give and receive love in various ways. Dr.Gary Chapman, renown authority on family relationships, identifies five categories: Physical Touch, Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Gifts, and Acts of Service. He also explains how to understand each child’s needs and show them love in the way they best understand it.

My experience: I don’t recall the exact year I purchased this book, only that my son was still in his toddler years, so making the distinction over which category he fit into eluded me for quite a while. Over time I learned to pay attention, and have found this very helpful in understanding and communicating with my children. I also decided that a good sprinkling of all five categories goes a long way in making a happy family!

What I learned: While I found the information very insightful, it wasn’t until I actually met Dr. Chapman two years ago that I understood the quantity. Identifying my children’s primary and secondary love languages wasn’t that difficult once they started school, but I was never sure if I was giving them enough of what they needed. I discovered the quantity is different for every child, and you just have to study them to see when you’ve met the need. Some will require more (like my daughter), while others will require less (like my son).

Have you read this book? What did you find helpful for your family?


1 comment »

  1. Unfortuantly, I wasn’t to lucky to read the book in time, while my girl was younger. Many issues are unresolved, unreconciled to now have regrets that MICAH 7:6 is a verse that is true in her and I’s life. We are like ”Oil and Water.”

Leave a Reply

Want Free Email Updates? Enter your email below and click 'subscribe'.

Jen also posts at:

Jen’s Literary Agent